With Diwali around the corner, these states have banned all firecrackers


Several states have decided to ban the sale and use of firecrackers altogether, given the toxic haze that hangs over most cities, especially during the winter months. Last year, the National Green Tribunal (NGT) banned the use of firecrackers in the NCR until the end of the holiday season, while several states made concessions for “green crackers”. This year, some states have adopted a blanket ban.

India is home to some of the most polluted cities in terms of air quality, with standards more than 12 times lax compared to recent World Health Organization guidelines. In light of this, some states are taking extra precautions and have also banned the sale of firecrackers completely in 2021.

Here is the list of states that have banned the use and sale of firecrackers during the holiday season.


The AAP government led by Arvind Kejriwal has banned the storage, sale and use of all types of firecrackers until January 1, 2022. The government said the decision was made in light of pollution levels and air quality in and around the city over the past three years. Delhi police have tightened enforcement of the ban on the sale of firecrackers. The state recently received Rs 18 crore under the National Clean Air Program (NCAP) to improve the city’s air quality levels.


The Haryana government banned the sale and use of firecrackers with immediate effect earlier this month. The Haryana State Pollution Board previously recommended that the 14 districts ban fireworks based on air quality levels in the state.


The eastern state has banned the use and sale of fireworks in the state under ongoing COVID-19 lockdown guidelines. Fireworks cannot be bought and sold in the state during October and during Diwali.

Rajasthan allows “green firecrackers

Following the rejection of the firecracker-makers’ plea by the Supreme Court, which was rejected, the state overturned its blanket ban on firecrackers. The state has authorized the sale and use of “green crackers”. These fireworks can only be used from 8 p.m. to 10 p.m. during festivals like Diwali and Guruparb, from 6 a.m. to 8 a.m. for Chhath Puja, and from 11.55 p.m. to 12:30 a.m. on Christmas and New Years.

(Edited by : Shoma bhattacharjee)

First publication: STI


Comments are closed.